Setting the Logging Level - API Server - Foundation 23.1 - Foundation 23.1 - Ready - OnBase - Essential - Premier - Standard - external - Standard - Essential - Premier

API Server

API Server
Foundation 23.1

To set the logging level:

  1. Open the .json file in a plain-text editor.
  2. Within the Hyland.Logging element, locate the Routes element
  3. Locate the element for the logging route that you want to configure. Logging route elements can include the following:

    Logging Route Elements



    Information logged in the Diagnostics Console.


    Information logged in the Windows Event Viewer.

  4. In the section for the route you are configuring, ensure that a Minimum-Level attribute is included. Add the attribute if it does not already exist. For example:
    This enables detailed messaging to the diagnostics route.

    Depending on the application, this attribute might be included by default but commented out. Remove the /* and */ from the line to uncomment the line.

  5. To refine the severity of messages being received by the diagnostics route, you can edit the attribute for minimum and maximum logging levels:
    • The Minimum-Level attribute limits the lowest-severity log level that is received.

    • You can add a Maximum-Level attribute, which limits the highest-severity log level that is received.

    • The values for these attributes can be set to any of the following log level severities, listed from most severe to least severe.


    Log level names are case sensitive.

    Log Level



    Logs that describe an unrecoverable application, system crash, or catastrophic failure that requires immediate attention.


    Logs that highlight when the current flow of execution is stopped due to a failure. These logs indicate a failure in the current activity, but not an application-wide failure.


    Logs that highlight an abnormal or unexpected event in the application flow but do not otherwise cause the application to stop.


    Logs that track the general flow of the application.


    Logs that are used for interactive investigation during development.


    Logs that contain the most detailed messages and may include sensitive data. These logs should never be enabled in a production environment.


    A logging category that does not write any logging messages.

    For example, a route in the .json file could be edited to include the following attributes:
    "Minimum-Level": "Debug",
    "Maximum-Level": "Error"
    This example specifies that the logging route only receives logging messages with a severity level of Debug or above, and it receives no messages with a higher severity level than Error.

    The default severity level of a route is a minimum of Information and a maximum of Critical. The route uses these severity levels if it does not include a Minimum-Level or Maximum-Level line specified in the .json file.

  6. Save the file and restart the application.