Common Errors - EDM Services - Foundation 23.1 - Foundation 23.1 - Ready - OnBase - Essential - Premier - Standard - external - Standard - Essential - Premier

EDM Services

Platform
OnBase
Product
EDM Services
Release
Foundation 23.1
License
Standard
Essential
Premier

File | Save - A removable disk group copy prompts for the next volume.

If you try to save a document to a Disk Group configured with a removable copy, you may be prompted to specify where the removable media is located. You will need to supply the path to the removable media or insert new media at this location.

If you are working with a removable media device that is always accessible, such as a jukebox, you can perform the following steps to avoid the above dialog box:

  1. In OnBase Configuration, select Disk Mgmt | Disk Groups.
  2. Select the Disk Group and click Volume Configuration.
  3. Click on the removable copy and select Activate Platter Paths.
  4. Click the Platter Paths button and add the path.
  5. Click Close three times to exit.

Drag and drop files – Users lack privileges to import.

If a user does not have privileges to import, the Import button in the OnBase Client is grayed out and the user cannot use the drag-and-drop import feature.

To grant a user import privileges, ensure that their User Group is assigned the Import privilege. For information on configuring User Group privileges, see the System Administration documentation.

Right-click for revisions – User lacks rights to Revision control.

If you right-click a document that has revisions (number shown in brackets on the left) and do not have the Revisions / Renditions menu item available, it is because you do not have rights to Revision Control.

To grant a user Revision Control privileges, ensure that their User Group is assigned the Revision Control privilege. For information on configuring User Group privileges, see the System Administration documentation.

Revision is part of a Disk Group volume that is offline.

The Disk Group volume will have to be brought back online to retrieve the document.

Document is checked out – No one is logged in as that user.

The document is locked. To unlock the document in the OnBase Client, select Admin | Utilities | Document Lock Administration. Select the document you wish to unlock and click Remove.

Image Markups are displayed incorrectly when image rotation is saved.

If an image document is flipped horizontally or vertically and saved between the time an image markup is applied and saved, the saved image markup will also be flipped horizontally or vertically.

How do you remove the OnBase menu in MS Office applications if you need to uninstall EDM Services ?

There are two ways to remove the OnBase menu in MS Office applications.

The first way is:

  1. From a command prompt, unregister mzEDMSvc.dll by typing: regsvr32 /u mzedmsvc.dll.
    Note:

    For 64-bit operating systems, regsvr32 must be run from the Windows\SYSWOW64 directory.

  2. Navigate to C:\Documents and Settings\username\application data\microsoft\templates.
  3. Delete normal.dot.
  4. Restart the MS Office application.
  5. The OnBase menu is removed.

The second way is:

  1. From a command prompt, unregister mzEDMSvc.dll by typing: regsvr32 /u mzedmsvc.dll.
    Note:

    For 64-bit operating systems, regsvr32 must be run from the Windows\SYSWOW64 directory.

  2. In the MS Office application, select View | Toolbars, and choose the Customize… option.
  3. On the Toolbars tab, select the Menu Bar check box, then click Reset.
  4. The Reset Toolbar dialog box is displayed. Click OK to reset changes made to the Menu Bar toolbar in Normal.dot.
  5. Restart the MS Office application.
  6. The OnBase menu is removed.

If revisions are currently enabled for a Document Type, how does disabling the Allow Multiple Revisions option affect current document revisions in the system?

If a Document Type is configured to Allow Multiple Revisions, and documents of that Document Type have revisions created, only the most recent revision for each document can be retrieved within OnBase if the Document Type is changed to Non Revisable. However, the Disk Group files and database tables for the previous revisions will remain intact, so that if Allow Multiple Revisions is re-enabled on the Document Type, the previous revisions for the documents will once again be viewable within OnBase.

When trying to save multiple markups in the Unity Client, the following message is displayed: "The application encountered a critical error and must be closed." The Unity Client is then closed.

This is a known issue and can occur when attempting to save a large number of markups on a multi-page document. If this happens, you should consider applying the desired markups across more than one revision, instead of applying them all at once on a single revision (i.e., apply some of the markups, save the current revision, and repeat the process as necessary).

When using the EDM Briefcase, some characters in the file name may be replaced with question marks. The following error message may be displayed:

The Briefcase could not save the file to its destination: [data folder path]\[file name].

The EDM Briefcase has limited support in a Unicode database. If you are working with a document whose auto-name string contains Unicode characters, that document will not be supported. Also, the EDM Briefcase does not support Unicode characters that fall outside the range of the current system code page.