Enabling Automatic User Creation with Single Sign-On - Legacy Authentication Methods - Foundation 23.1 - Foundation 23.1 - Ready - OnBase - Essential - Premier - Standard - external - Standard - Essential - Premier

Legacy Authentication Methods

Platform
OnBase
Product
Legacy Authentication Methods
Release
Foundation 23.1
License
Standard
Essential
Premier

OnBase users can be automatically created by the system to allow seamless access to documents stored in OnBase. This means that users trying to access OnBase documents via a third-party application are granted access to the document without having to provide OnBase log in credentials.

This functionality is only available to systems that include Integration for Single Sign-On in the overall solution. The user's credentials are validated with the third-party application using single sign-on. If the user is authenticated by the third-party application and does not already exist in OnBase, an account is automatically created for that user. System-generated users are placed in a default user group, as configured in OnBase, and the requested document is displayed based on the permissions given to that user group.

Note:

If the system is not licensed for Integration for Single Sign-On, or no default user group is configured, new users are not generated by the system. See Licensing.

To configure a default User Group in OnBase:

  1. Launch the OnBase Configuration module.
  2. Select System Generated User Settings from the Utils menu. The SSO Default User Group dialog is displayed.
  3. Select a user group from the Default User Group drop-down list, or select << None >> to disable the creation of system-generated users.
    CAUTION:

    System-generated users inherit all rights and permissions given to the default user group selected. Since users are generated automatically, it is recommended that you create a default user group that is granted only the most basic rights, not allowing system-generated users to perform any kind of processing, editing, or configuration tasks.

  4. Click Save, or click Cancel to close the dialog without saving.
    Tip:

    See the Configuration help files or System Administration module reference guide for details on creating User Groups in OnBase.