Primary, Backup, and Disabled Servers - Legacy Authentication Methods - Foundation 23.1 - Foundation 23.1 - Ready - OnBase - Essential - Premier - Standard - external - Standard - Essential - Premier

Legacy Authentication Methods

Platform
OnBase
Product
Legacy Authentication Methods
Release
Foundation 23.1
License
Standard
Essential
Premier

A server that is set as Primary marks the start of a new server group. Each server listed after a primary server is considered a backup to that server, until the next primary server is encountered, which marks the start of a new server group.

When organizing servers as primary or backup servers, the order of the servers in the list is important, as the list is used to define server groups. A primary server should be followed by one or more backup servers before the next primary server, such that the primary server and the backup servers that follow it are considered one server group. To move a server up or down in the list, select the server to move and click Move Up or Move Down, as appropriate.

When OnBase attempts to authenticate against the servers listed, the backup servers are only searched if a connection cannot be made to the primary server for that server group. If a user cannot be authenticated in a server group, the next server group is used to attempt authentication. If a server is disabled, it is not included in authentication attempts.

Once a successful connection is made and the user is authenticated, the remainder of the server groups are not searched.

  • To make a server a primary server, select it from the list and right-click it. Select Primary from the Type right-click menu options.

  • To make a server a backup server, select it from the list and right-click it. Select Backup from the right-click menu options.

    Note:

    The first server listed is always considered a primary server, even if its Type is set to Backup.

  • To enable or disable a server, select it from the list and right-click it. Select Disabled from the Status right-click menu options to disable it. Select Enabled to enable it.