If a deployed application instance is removed from all client workstations, it can be re-installed by users who follow the link to the deployed application instance, unless the instance is also removed from the deployment server.
To remove an instance of a deployed application in order to reset the version and/or re-use an instance name:
Access the Windows Registry (enter regedit in the Windows Start | Run dialog). The Registry Editor dialog is displayed.
Modify the registry at your own risk. Incorrectly editing the Windows registry can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. Be sure to back up the registry before making any changes to it.
Expand the following registry key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Hyland\Deployment
Under 64-bit systems this key may be located at: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Hyland\Deployment
- Expand the subkey that corresponds to the deployed application you want to remove the instance from (for example, ApplicationEnabler or ReportServices).
- Right click the subkey that corresponds to the instance name you want to remove.
- Select Delete.
- Click Yes at the confirmation prompt. The deleted instance is no longer available in the Deployment Wizard.
Locate the files for the instance to remove on the deployment server.
The location of the files depends on the location selected during installation. In a default, 32-bit installation, the files are located at C:\Program Files\Hyland\[ApplicationName]\[InstanceName]\(for example, C:\Program Files\Hyland\ApplicationEnabler\MyAppEnablerInstance\).
Delete all of the files and folders contained in the instance folder, or delete the entire instance folder. The application is no longer available for installation.
Take care to delete only the folder for the instance you are removing. Deleting the application folder will remove all instances of the deployed application.Note:
If the instance files are not removed from the deployment server, the application instance can still be installed by users who follow the link to the deployed application.
Follow the steps above to remove the installed instance from all client workstations (see, Removing a Deployed Application Instance from Client Workstations).
Until the instance is removed from client workstations, the application instance can still be used by client workstations, even if it is removed from the deployment server.