When working in OnBase, you may see a message saying that the document you want to view or retrieve has a "lock" on it. There are several types of these locks, including:
Locks caused by the system not closing properly in a previous session.
Locks caused when trying to modify a document or its Keyword Values if the document is currently in use by another user or by you from a previous session.
See Keyword Locking for more information.
If OnBase closes unexpectedly while a document is being modified, the next time OnBase is launched, the following dialog box will prompt you to view or remove any currently open locks assigned to you:
Clicking Yes will open the Manage Locks dialog box. Clicking No will close the dialog box and continue to open OnBase. The Manage Locks dialog can be accessed at a later time.
Any user can view a “locked” document, but only the first user can modify it. When the first user is finished viewing or modifying a document, the document is “unlocked” automatically.
Removing locks when a document is currently being accessed by a user may cause document changes to be lost. Locks should only be removed if the user's session is closed and the lock remains.
Image documents are locked if opened by a user with the Save Rotation User Group privilege.