Configuring Logging for Troubleshooting Purposes - Identity and Access Management Services - 3.3 - 3.3 - Other - external

Identity and Access Management Services

Identity and Access Management Services

General diagnostics information for IAM Services is written to the Hyland logs in the Windows Event Viewer. Additional information for OnBase environments is written to the OnBase Diagnostics Console.


For details on installing and using the OnBase Diagnostics Console, see the Diagnostics Service and Diagnostics Console module reference guide. Details on using the Windows Event Viewer are available from Microsoft.

To change the amount of information logged:

  1. Locate the appsettings.json file for the Hyland IdP server. In a default installation the file is located at C:\Program Files\Hyland\identityprovider\config\appsettings.json.
  2. Open the appsettings.json file for editing in a plain-text editor.
  3. Locate the Hyland.Logging block with the logging settings you want to change.




    Information logged in the OnBase Diagnostics Console.


    Information logged in the Windows Event Viewer.

  4. Edit the setting for minimum and maximum logging levels. If the setting is not available it must be added.

    For example:

    "Minimum-Level": "Information",

    "Maximum-Level": "Critical"

    The Minimum-Level setting defines the lowest-severity information that is logged. The Maximum-Level setting defines the highest-severity information that is logged.

  5. Enter one of the following log level names as the values for the Minimum-Level and Maximum-Level settings. Log level names are case sensitive.

    Log Level Names



    Logs that describe an unrecoverable application, system crash, or catastrophic failure that requires immediate attention.


    Logs that highlight when the current flow of execution is stopped due to a failure. These logs indicate a failure in the current activity, but not an application-wide failure.


    Logs that highlight an abnormal or unexpected event in the application flow but do not otherwise cause the application to stop.


    Logs that track the general flow of the application.


    Logs that are used for interactive investigation during development.


    Logs that contain the most detailed messages and may include sensitive data. These logs should never be enabled in a production environment.


    A logging category that does not write any logging messages.


    The default setting for the Minimum-Level is Information. The default setting for the Maximum-Level is Critical. If the Hyland.Logging settings do not include a Minimum-Level or Maximum-Level the default values are used for that setting.

  6. Save and close the appsettings.json file.
  7. For the changes to take effect, recycle the application pool of the application you changed.